THE PERKS OF EATING A CAULIFLOWER – A Story Not to Die For

One afternoon, somewhere around 6 p.m., I collapsed on the sidewalk.

 
It happened really fast, yet it felt like forever. A bunch of images scrolled in front of my eyes; then everything was bright and loud, and then there was nothing. Pitch black darkness and voices calling my name from the distance. In the last moments of my consciousness, I thought to myself:

“This is it, I guess. Well, f*ck.” 

I woke up to a light that was too bright to open my eyes for more than a second, and an unrecognizable reality. How much did I smoke and how much coffee did I drink? Have I eaten anything other than an apple in the morning?

Too much, definitely too much, and no. For months.

Next morning, lying in my bed, slowly regaining the movement of my arms and legs from the exhaustion of the previous day, I looked at the coffee machine creeping through the door frame.

“Oh no, you won’t. It’s time for breakfast, you evil kitchen appliance.”

So the coffee waited for a couple of hours. After the breakfast, it was time to do some life appreciation in the form of a field trip (yay).

River Ombla, Croatia

 

It is amazing how much people have to fail themselves before finally making the decision to change. The number of individuals I know leading this kind of life for months, even years and decades, is skyrocketing. Every day there is a new excuse for the way we treat ourselves; family disputes, financial troubles, problems at work, bad relationships, or bad breakups. Still, the inevitable is always somewhere around the corner, hiding neatly in the shadows, and we constantly act like we will never have to face what is waiting for us there. Well, the hide and seek game none of us really intended to play was finally over for me.

How did some of us become so self-destructive that we push ourselves to the limits of what our mental and physical health can bear? Or is it just the level of modern-day stress that is doing all that for us and we sort of…give in?

Unfortunately, there seems to be no straight answer to those questions. As the adulthood slaps us right into the pimply adolescent faces, it is up to every individual to find a way to deal with all the new responsibilities in life. During the transition, some find it hard to asimilate and create their own little world of unhealthy habits that will be very hard to leave behind later in life. It all depends on the character of a person and what they are willing to sacrifice for more time in this world to do all the things they wish to accomplish.
 
And the first step in changing your habit-infested lifestyle is as simple as going to the grocery store and buying some cauliflower.

  

(and actually eating it)

8 comments

  1. Karuna · September 23

    I enjoyed your post; especially the way you ended it!!! Your words are so true… and the photo was really beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • welcomeannie · September 25

      I’m so glad you liked it! Thank you, I started doing a bit of amateur photography this year, and I hope there will be more photos from various European destinations by the end of the year.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Karuna · September 25

        I never took photos at all until I started blogging. Now my blog is full of them! It has opened up a whole new world for me. A few months ago I bought a microscope and an adapter that attaches my iPhone to the microscope. That has allowed me to film a new level of the world.

        Like

  2. creatingkings · September 2

    I’ve definitely seen a few people go years like that, refusing to listen to the words of others. Mark Twain said you have to learn from others because you don’t live long enough to make all the mistakes yourself. He’s right, but there are some lessons that every person just HAS to learnt he hard way. How love, how to give, how to pour your heart into something and get up every time you knocked down…those lessons don’t come the easy way. I like your writing style!
    P.s.> If its no trouble I’d be honored if you’d check out my blog. I focus on motivation and self mastery and encourage sharing wherever it might help! Thanks millions if you choose to do so. 🙂

    Like

    • welcomeannie · September 3

      It seems that we all make certain mistakes, especially at a young age, but a lot of them turn out to be very valuable lessons if we decide to see them that way and change the direction we’re heading based on our experiences.
      Glad you liked it, I will check out your blog!

      Like

  3. A Product of Bad Internet · September 2

    Hey, I can identify with the things you are writing about, being a twentysomething myself. While your writing style can be charming, I find that grammar checks can be a little helpful in some places. Keep writing. 🙂

    Like

    • welcomeannie · September 3

      Glad you liked it! Thank you for the feedback, as English is not my native language I will surely try to make as few grammatical errors as possible.

      Like

  4. Gemma · August 23

    Really interesting post! I enjoyed your writing style and the topic of your post! And so true that sometimes it takes failure to change! Hope you’ll check out/follow my blog too 🙂 https://myhappycornerblog.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

